Wild Beast Studios

Wild Beast Studios

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Plein Air on Brainard Road

November 30, 2015

Today I drove out to Kingston Illinois again with the intention of working on another painting but do to the rain I ended up photographing farmscape scenery for other future paintings. As I drove down Brainard Road,

a gravel road. I came across a spot that I really liked. Since the rain had stopped I decided to paint the scene which you see before you.

The weather was very cold; approximately 35°  to 40° outside, but I came prepared with my muck boots and multiple layers of clothing, including my neon hoodie to warn other drivers that I was out painting alongside the road. I even put out one of my road side florescence poles to warn drivers of my presence.

This is a small 12″ x 9″ oil pastel painted on an unfinished wooden panel stained with a black mahogany color as a ground. I started with some basic colors to build up the gray sky and land. Once I have the sky in place I worked on the landscape adding and removing paint for the tools that I had before me. The small painting took approximately three hours to paint and in that time I believe I was able to achieve my goal.

Below:

Brainard Road, Kingston Illinois 12″x9″, oil pastel on panel. November 30, 2015.


Feel free to visit my website and Instagram page at:

WildBeastStudios.com

Instagram.com/WildBeastStudios

Gyan Samara MFA